ECSA nominates new Management Committee Chair

The European Chlorinated Solvents Association (ECSA) nominated a new Chair at its Management Committee meeting on 10 September 2020. Thorsten Schulz of Nouryon Industrial Chemicals replaces Neil Rosenburgh of Inovyn, who has been the Chair for the past two and a half years.
At the productive General Technical / C&O Working Group (GTWG) the preceding day, members prepared ECSA's input to the upcoming consultation on the revision of the Ozone Depleting Substance (ODS) regulation in detail and reviewed the next steps for documentation, following the updated version of the ECSA Infosheet on perchloroethylene that has been published here.

The ODS public consultation is open from 13 July to 9 November. The European Commission (EC) intends to use those results to review the EU rules on ozone layer protection. In the context of the European Green Deal, the EC will also seek to attain additional emission reductions. This consultation aims to collect public views and evidence on different policy options to achieve a higher level of emission reductions, improve the efficiency of the regulation while preserving effective prevention of illegal activities, to ensure more comprehensive monitoring, improve coherence of the regulation and update obsolete provisions. The ECSA members are currently revising the questionnaire and will submit a response by the deadline.